New Year, New Child-Seat Law
Florida’s new child seat law goes into effect Thursday, Jan. 1.
In 2014, the Palm Beach Post called Florida’s old child-seat law “the most lax car seat law in the nation.” Under those rules, children were allowed to stop sitting in car seats as soon as they turned 4.
Under the new law, children must be in a car seat until they turn 6. Parents and immediate family members could be fined $60 and get three points on their licenses for failing to comply.
The law makes a few exceptions including medical emergencies and medical conditions that could be affected by a booster seat. If a family friend is transporting a 4- or 5-year-old as a favor, those children are also allowed to ride without a booster seat but must use a seat belt.
Florida visitors will want to bring their own booster or baby seats. There is no rental car exemption and the law states that parents or guardians are responsible for providing the proper seats while their traveling in taxis or chauffeured vehicles.