© 2023 WLRN
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

WLRN News Recognized With 10 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards


WLRN News has won 10 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, including Excellence in Sound, Excellence in Writing, News Series, Best Website and Overall Excellence. 

The Murrow awards, awarded since 1971 by the Radio Television Digital News Organization (RTDNA), recognize stories that put public interest above all else, provide a catalyst for public discussion and adhere to the RTDNA Code of Ethics. They are named in honor of legendary broadcast journalist Edward R. Murrow.

WLRN News was recognized as the 2018 winner for Region 13 (which includes Florida, Georgia, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands) in the following categories:

All regional winners move on to the national round in each category. You can find the full list for all regions here. 

RTDNA will announce those winners in the summer. 

Correction: This post has been amended to reflect that work from reporters Tim Padgett, Jessica Bakeman, Caitie Switalski, Yaneli Gonzalez and Peter Haden won the Continuing Coverage award.  The original version only mentioned Tim Padgett.