© 2024 WLRN
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

DHS Extends Temporary Protected Status For Immigrants From 6 Countries, Including Haiti

Alexia Fodere
Miami Herald

At least 400,000 immigrants from six countries, including Haiti, Honduras, El Salvador and Nicaragua, who have been allowed to temporarily live and work in the United States, are getting their Temporary Protected Status benefits automatically extended for 15 months by the Department of Homeland Security.

The extension means that the TPS beneficiaries, who also include nationals of Sudan and Nepal, can continue to legally live and work in the United States and, for now, avoid being placed in deportation proceedings.

The 15-month automatic extension decision was announced by DHS Thursday and will be filed in the Federal Register. The extension is part of DHS’ compliance with various orders issued by federal district courts in three separate federal lawsuits. The lawsuits were first filed under the Trump administration as it tried to end TPS designation for Haiti, Central American nations and others, and it has since been extended to the Biden administration.

Read more at our news partner the Miami Herald.

More On This Topic