© 2023 WLRN
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

WLRN Wins Overall Excellence Award At National Murrow Awards

WLRN News has won the National Edward R. Murrow Award for overall excellence. It's the first time the station has won this particular award at the national level.

The Murrow awards were created in 1971 and are named in honor of Edward R. Murrow, a pioneer who set the standard for the highest quality of broadcast journalism.

The Radio Television Digital News Association's awards adhere to the RTDNA Code of Ethics.

WLRN News was recognized as a winner in the following category:

Large Market Station - Overall Excellence

Earlier this year, WLRN News won four awards in the Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards and, in the past six years, the station has won 47 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards including seven in 2020, 11 in 201910 in 2018nine in 2017 and six in 2016.

Find the full list of winners here.

Winners will be recognized at the Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala on Oct. 27 in New York.

More On This Topic