© 2023 WLRN
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

WLRN Wins 4 Regional Murrow Awards

Edward R. Murrow Awards Logo for 2021

WLRN News has won four Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards including overall excellence, news documentary, investigative reporting and excellence in sound for 2020.

The Murrow awards were created in 1971 and are named in honor of Edward R. Murrow, a pioneer who set the standard for the highest quality of broadcast journalism.

The Radio Television Digital News Association's awards adhere to the RTDNA Code of Ethics.

WLRN News was recognized as winners for Region 13 (Florida, Georgia, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands) in the following categories:

1. Large Market Station - Overall Excellence

2. Large Market Station - Investigative ReportingHow The Miami-Dade State Attorney's Office Has Used A Shadowy Charity Fund In Criminal Cases, by Danny Rivero

3. Large Market Station - News Documentary, Railroad Shop: How Miami And County School Board Destroyed A Black Community To Build A Whites Only School, by Nadege Green

4. Large Market Station - Excellence in Sound, “Unmute Yourself! Public Comment Pushing Through The Pandemic, by Wilkine Brutus, Nancy Klingener, Daniel Rivero, Jenny Staletovich and Caitie Switalski Muñoz

With this year's total, the station has won 47 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards over the past six years, including seven in 2020, 11 in 201910 in 2018nine in 2017 and six in 2016.

All regional winners move on to the national round in each category. RTDNA will announce those winners in June. Find the full list of winners here.

More On This Topic
Your generous support ensures that this trusted public news service is accessible to all, no matter what.
Please donate today.