© 2024 WLRN
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

WLRN Wins 7 Regional Murrow Awards

WLRN News has won seven Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards including overall excellence, news documentary, hard news and feature reporting for 2019. It is tied with three other stations for the most regional awards of any news outlet in this year's competition.

The Murrow awards were created in 1971. The awards are named in honor of Edward R. Murrow, a pioneer who set the standard for the highest quality of broadcast journalism.

RTDNA's awards adhere to the RTDNA Code of Ethics.

WLRN News was recognized as winners for Region 13 (Florida, Georgia, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands) in the following categories:

1. Large Market Station - Overall Excellence (listen to a montage here.)

2. Large Market Station - Continuing CoverageVoting Rights Restoration: Tracking Florida's Amendment 4.

3. Large Market Station - Excellence in Social Media (view a collection here.)

4. Large Market Station - Feature ReportingGuatemalan Girl Power: A Maya Baby Makes It To South Florida – And Life-Giving Surgery, by Tim Padgett.

5. Large Market Station - Hard NewsMiami-Dade Police Who Witnessed Violent Arrest Of Black Woman Say She Was Not Disorderly, by Nadege Green.

6. Large Market Station - Multimedia (listen to a montage here.)

7. Large Market Station - News DocumentaryChartered: Florida's First Private Takeover of a Public School System, by Jessica Bakeman.

With this year's total, the station has won 43 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards over the past four years, including 11 in 201910 in 2018nine in 2017 and six in 2016.

All regional winners move on to the national round in each category. RTDNA will announce those winners in June. 

More On This Topic