Florida’s 2019 Principal Of The Year Is Named New Principal At Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School

May 13, 2019

Michelle Kefford, the Flanagan High School principal who was recently named Florida’s 2019 principal of the year, will be the new principal at Stoneman Douglas High, replacing Ty Thompson (and co-principal Teresa Hall).

Kefford was formerly a science teacher at Stoneman Douglas.

Teachers were told at a 7:15 a.m.staff meeting by Superintendent Robert Runcie and district administrators Valerie Wanza and Michael Ramirez.

It remains unclear what will have to three assistant principals — Jeff Morford, Winifred Porter and Denise Reed— who were transferred out of the school in November, after a report by the Marjory Stoneman Douglas Public Safety Commission questioned their leadership roles related to the massacre.

Read more at the South Florida Sun Sentinel